Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Mineral learning help
Colorado Prospector - Gem and mineral prospecting and mining forums > Prospecting, Mineral Collecting and Treasure Hunting Forums > Prospectors and Rockhounding Field Work
jimmyrig
Was a beautiful day out yesterday so I went out to the hayman burn area to do some poking around and test flight with my drone. I'm still learning my common minerals so thought I'd just take a stab at some. Is this Quartz in Porphyritic Rhyolite?
jimmyrig
Drone Video https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=w8Xs7ji7Fx0
Woody
Hi Jimmyrig,

So... Just learning your minerals huh? Well "Porphyritic Rhyolite" is a mouth full for someone just cutting their teeth on common minerals. Rhyolite is very common and can be found all over the high country. "Porphyritic" on the other hand is a term
used to describe the texture of a host of different rocks. The use of the word Porphyritic describing texture is a direct reference to Crystals contained in the material being described. The size of these crystals are most often very small and can't readily be
addressed unless viewed up-close.

From the picture submitted, I can't honestly tell if that material is Rhyolite or Granite, let alone if it is Porphyritic or not. I'd call it an outcropping of Quartz in Granite.

However, I think I know what you are getting at, and I like it! When a dedicated person first takes on a new hobby they read a lot about it. One of the terms used in describing how to find crystals is Porphyritic. If you are seeing this porphyritic texture,
then you are in the right area. If you are not seeing it, then move on to another area or another material. Once you found it, use it to your advantage! Best case scenario.... you come up to a rocky material face and you can see it has a porphyritic texture.