Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Newbie here
Colorado Prospector - Gem and mineral prospecting and mining forums > Prospecting, Mineral Collecting and Treasure Hunting Forums > Prospectors and Rockhounding Field Work
rentascout
I first want to start off by saying thank you, I am a newbie in every sense of the word when it comes to mining, but a buddy brought it to my attention that all the time I enjoy spending in the woods I could be hunting for some pretty cool art.

So I have been looking at claims in the Divide, CO area but I have Zero Geology skills and would like to see what are some indicators. I enjoy spending time with my kids in the woods and if I can pass something else on to them, then I am all about it. I know this is not a skill mastered overnight or even in years. My buddy and I are both prior military and I think it is the challenge we are looking for, but I know any information shared on indicators or tips to use once we are onsite would be greatly appreciated. We are going to be doing recreational mining and I have read most of the regulations, however, if there is a cheat sheet anyone has again, please and thank you.
johnnybravo300
I used to live between florissant and divide up towards cedar Mtn road and I know that forest really well. I spent a lot of time out there on dirt bikes and hiking, and digging of course. We go back and dig amazonite and smokies in the summer.
That area has alot of pegmatites so id start there. That forest is full of minerals and they are pretty easy to spot in some places.
We've picked up nice crystals from the surface but the nicest ones are still buried although I've never had to dig very deep to find good stuff. That's a really good area.
Gold luck and have fun!
Crusty
Welcome!