Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Pocket locating
Colorado Prospector - Gem and mineral prospecting and mining forums > Prospecting, Mineral Collecting and Treasure Hunting Forums > Prospectors and Rockhounding Field Work
nate
In researching hounding, ive seen it mentioned that abnormally large trees in a specific may indicate a pocket. Anyone ever had lucl digging under such trees? The 2 largest trees in the forest are right by the amazonite plates i found.
Auger
I have a LOT more experience with plants than I do prospecting.

However, when I have been out prospecting since I am a noob I try to take in as many points of data as possible. At first, I walked around the holes at the claim I go to and holes on other peoples' claims... (or filled spots for that matter) Just to see what they were following. For a long time I couldn't figure out what made people dig under certain rocks and trees. I still think that 80% of people prospecting are just digging under a "good looking spot" rather than use educated means to find a pocket.

The first thing is to find the floaters and follow them up until they stop, yes. But how do you know where to look from there? All the boulders look the same, pegmatite everywhere, pieces of Amazonite strewn willy-nilly... Smokys laying about ready to be picked up...

What I started to do to determine where minerals may be is to look for patches of ground that would or should otherwise have trees like the surrounding area. This could indicate that sulphates are concentrated in the area which would lead to the growth of only grasses, some flowers, and other acidic soil loving plants. If there are sulphates in the area there could be other minerals.

If you notice a tree that is doing exceptionally well compared to its peers, or more green than usual it could mean Iron abundance in the area which for me indicates that red iron oxide sand/clay.