Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Question about Clear Creek
Colorado Prospector - Gem and mineral prospecting and mining forums > Prospecting, Mineral Collecting and Treasure Hunting Forums > Prospectors and Rockhounding Field Work
Matt
I wanted to make sure that I understood the rules for prospecting at Clear Creek so I need some clarification on what this sentence means..."Prospecting activities are permitted within the high water mark of the stream only." I am new to prospecting so forgive me for asking, I want to make sure I am not breaking any rules.

Also I was reading through the Jeffco web site this morning and found that motors are allow on Clear Creek, but there are a few items you need to follow....

Ethics and Rules for Recreational Gold Prospecting in Clear Creak Canyon Park

Ethics

It is your responsibility to know whose land you are on and to seek the proper permission.
Be courteous to other park visitors.
Respect the natural resources and follow all laws, ordinances, rules and regulations that govern recreational prospecting. Leave it better than you found it.
JCOS supports Leave No Trace principles.

Rules and Regulations for Gold Prospecting

All federal and state laws and county ordinances apply to Jefferson County Open Space.
Obey all Jefferson County Open Space Rules and Regulations.
All prospecting holes must be filled in before leaving site.
Motors/equipment must be fueled/oiled at least 10 feet from water.
Fueled equipment must be placed in a catch pan so fuel/oil is not released into the water.
Prospecting activities are permitted within the high water mark of the stream only.

Thanks for your time and knowledge.
fenixsmom