Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Dig sites
Colorado Prospector - Gem and mineral prospecting and mining forums > Prospecting, Mineral Collecting and Treasure Hunting Forums > Prospectors and Rockhounding Field Work
Bones
Ok, first off let me say that I have no experience digging for gemstones but I have the ambition. I understand doing the research first...ive been to the blm site and been on the lr2000 and am getting around it through trial and error. I live in Michigan so at the moment I have no way to physically look for areas that show any promise. My question is this...how do you personally go about finding areas you want to dig? Do you go out on foot and explore? maybe take notes of coordinates and do the research or do you have other ways? I'd like to hear how you do it...please remember that I have no experience so go easy on me!
Thanks!
fenixsmom
You can try Google earth to look at the area but as for looking for boundaries I think you'll have to make a trip down here.
dbx
" I understand doing the research first... I live in Michigan at the moment ..."
:
Not sure if you imply looking in Colorado, or Michigan.
I'm teaching myself a bit of Geology, and this link is
for the colorful-yet-confusing maps.
http://ngmdb.usgs.gov/maps/MapView/
swizz
QUOTE (Bones @ Mar 17 2014, 03:54 PM) *
I live in Michigan so at the moment I have no way to physically look for areas that show any promise.

Bones,
Welcome to CP! sign0016.gif
I have to somewhat disagree with your statement above. I'm a Yooper that lives in Colorado now. Not sure what part of Michigan you're in but I always did well finding Agates as a kid on the shores of Lake Superior.... very fond memories of that. You can also find fair amounts of beach Gold on the shores of Lake Superior and Lake Michigan if you can dial in on the black sand layers.
Bones