Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Plum Creek Gold?
Colorado Prospector - Gem and mineral prospecting and mining forums > Prospecting and Rockhounding Gatherings or Events > Prospector's Outings and Adventures
Cord0968
Anyone know of gold being found in Plum Creek? I have property that has a couple hundred yards of the creek that runs through it. I am VERY new to prospecting so I don't the necessary equipment to pull the gold out(if there is any there). I have panned it a little and consistently come up with black sand and little flakes of what I think are gold. There is a lot of mica on the property too so I might be seeing the mica and mistaking it for gold. Any advice? Was thinking about just classifying the material down to a high mesh count and running it through a blue bowl. As I said, I am very new to all of this.

Thanks!
Ben
goldchef
i would love to help you out kind of new myself but have a sluice bluebowl and love the hunt signs026.gif
Crusty
Welcome to the forum!

I'm sure some of the smart folks will be able to give you some good info. I'm just speculating based on what I've read, (since I've not panned) but most of the gold around here is pretty small, so if you're getting flakes, it might not be gold... but if your panning skills are good, mica shouldn't be left in the black sand, so don't throw it away because I said so! lol

Caveman
Ben, Welcome!