Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Sluice design
Colorado Prospector - Gem and mineral prospecting and mining forums > Prospecting, Mineral Collecting and Treasure Hunting Forums > Equipment - Prospecting and Lapidary
Davem
I want to build a sluice box from wood materials. I read one book that used 1 1/2 high riffles (1x2) set 1 1/2" apart. BUT I see all these designs on the internet or commercially made styles where the riffles are set maybe 6" apart. If the wider riffle spacing because expanded metal and carpet is used? I'm not sure what size riffles to use and how far aprt to set them? Thanks for any help.
fenixsmom
What are you using it for? Home use or in the river? Wood gets very heavy when wet, so it won't make for easy transportation.
Davem
It would be in a river with good speed/flow and weight is a concern if I have to start hauling stuff up and down a steep bank but...money is sort of an issue and I'm just getting started and don't know what I need. I was thinking of getting some 1/4" thick plywood and make something that might not last long but would give me an idea of what I need. On the other hand I could start just with a trowel and pan, maybe I should, but I thought it would be slow going and I wouldn't find any gold. Someone told me setting up a sluice correctly takes some time and isn't always easy.

In any event on a homemade sluice with 1x1 wood riffles, how far apart should they be spaced?
fenixsmom
Can you weld? Aluminum sheets are cheap. at any rate I've seen them seperated every 6" for a 3' long box. Look up the Keene A52 and reproduce the slat design. I highly recommend deep V black matting, miners moss and corrugated metal to also help catch the fine flakes.
traddoerr
Hello Davem, Many of the produced sluices have hungarin (sp) riffles with the matting under neath, such as my Keene A52 that fenixsmom talks about, this maybe why they are app 5"/6" apart as these riffles create a vortex on th down side that traps the heavys/gold.