Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: help with mud panning
Colorado Prospector - Gem and mineral prospecting and mining forums > Prospecting, Mineral Collecting and Treasure Hunting Forums > Prospectors and Rockhounding Field Work
fenixsmom
Hey there! I'm just starting out and the soil I'm working in is alluvial mud. It seems that it will stratify with minimum water and it also seems to be so light that it takes everything with it when I feather. I use Gold Hogs "rock and roll" method. Does anyone know how to keep the goods in the pan and get rid of the light mud with only a 14" gold pan? I can't afford a sluice or fine recovery system. Thank you for reading my dilema!.
Caveman
Order some sodium silicate online - 2 tbs per 5 gallons of water - it will cause the mud to precipitate out, but also keep t from clumping up and carrying out the gold with it.
It is also sold as "Clay-Gone" at prospecting supply stores.
fenixsmom
Thank you Caveman! I'm digging in my backyard practicing for the real world. I think I may have chosen the wrong soil type to begin with!
Caveman
Just a note - Clay-Gone is far more expensive than sodium silicate from a chem supply store. Be reasonably carefull with it, and you should be just fine. A gallon goes a
looooooonnnnng way at 2 tbs per five gallons of water!
fenixsmom
To be honest I was hoping more for a method then a chemical, Im beyond broke at the moment. So the fact I have half a snack sized baggy of concentrate from 2 gal of mud is promising! I really appreciate the the advice though! I'll remember it for the future!
traddoerr
QUOTE (fenixsmom @ Jan 23 2014, 06:07 PM) *
To be honest I was hoping more for a method then a chemical, Im beyond broke at the moment. So the fact I have half a snack sized baggy of concentrate from 2 gal of mud is promising! I really appreciate the the advice though! I'll remember it for the future!