Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: panning buddy wanted
Colorado Prospector - Gem and mineral prospecting and mining forums > Miners Crafts, Goods & Classified ads > Wanted > SOLD or Found!
fenixsmom
Hey there everyone. I'm just starting out my addiction to gold panning. I live in the Golden area and am looking for anyone who would want to join in local areas. I'm not looking to invite myself to someone's claim or dig after their "glory holes". I'm just looking for new friends to to go with my new hobby :D I'm currently trying to save up enough money to pay for membership to really saturate myself with like minded individuals! I only know of three local rivers (probably everyone's first rivers). I hope to see you all out there good luck and happy hunting! I'll just be over here ~> desert.gif lol bye folks!
swizz
Hi fenix, welcome to CP and the world of prospecting! sign0016.gif
You're in a good location for panning, lots of stuff nearby.
I'm on the other side of the mtn but Clear Creek would be a great starting point for you since you're in Golden. The 'Jeffco Open Space Recreational Area' encompasses much of Clear Creek going up HWY6 before the Blackhawk exit. Jefferson County owns that land but they allow prospecting as a recreational activity and have posted their rules which must be followed since it is their private property and not protected by the Mining Laws of 1872.
If you want to venture into BLM lands or NFS lands (which you OWN by the way) then it's a different ballgame and you have Federal mining rights.... also Federal mining regulations. Land status identification is of utmost importance and it's no coincidence that we teach how to research everything you need to know here at CP!