Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: mining vacation
Colorado Prospector - Gem and mineral prospecting and mining forums > Prospecting and Rockhounding Gatherings or Events > Prospector's Outings and Adventures
scarylarry
Hi folks, i'm Larry Coleman and i'm from northern Mich.and i'm a rock hound. I have mined for sapphire,rose quartz,black tourmaline,geodes and have a little lapidary shop with a 24" slab saw as well as a geine cabbing unit,and a few other smaller saws.I make everything from lamps,erns,lighthouses and just about anything.I got bit by the mining bug when i found a 73.10ct. sapphire at the Masons ruby and sapphire mine and i haven'n stopped since.I'd love to come to Colorado and work an existing mine with a local.I'm a retired truck driver,A former Marine,a Harley owner forever and am in pretty good shape.I've been an outdoorsman all my life and have only been to Colorado when i was trucking and would really enjoy the chance to mine with someone for a couple weeks.I have a little motorhome and an ATV that i could bring or just ride my bike and tote my gear.I sure would like to come and learn all about the wonderfull minerals and gems and try to give someone a helping hand.And really get to see a part of Colorado that i'v only dreamed about. I'v got kin in Denver so i could kill two birds with one stone. Thank You all and have a great mining season. Larry Coleman 989.595.3281
CP
Hi Larry,

Welcome to the forums and thank you for your service! emoticon-object-018.gif The UP eh? Sweet, there are quite a few forum members from around those parts! Lived in Newberry when I met Mrs.CP!
Great to hear you're into lapidary as well, we'd all like to see some of your work sometime, post up some pics when you get a chance. I'm sure you'll find some threads around the forum that interest you, make yourself right at home browsing the entire website.