Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Flintknapping
Colorado Prospector - Gem and mineral prospecting and mining forums > Exploring Our Universe > Living Off The Lands
kalenmcdonald
i have been flintknapping for 9 years now. i have my good days and bad days. i have just recently made a really nice hellgap thats about 9 inches long. anyways i was just wondering if anybody does this great lost art? i would love to chitchat with ya. it would also be a great stepping stone for those survival enthusiasts.

Kalen emoticon-object-018.gif
russau
i tried it several years back and wasnt very good at it but it was fun! i cant seem to get the peices thin but i can get the shape done ok!i guess you just got to know what your doing!
CP
I don't do any knapping myself but we do find alot of material suitable for knapping in our prospecting adventures.
We'd all love to see some of your knapping work pieces sometime too.

I know there at least a couple other knappers in the community who'll will hopefully stop in this thread soon to chyme in as well.

CP
Woody
Me and my brothers have done this for years. But I must admit it is easier to "Cheat" than to do all the work from scratch. The material is often in irregular shape and there is a lot of wasted bits and pieces when using traditional methods. Using a rock saw to slice the best stuff in slabs really saves a lot of time and material. The easiest stuff to work with is Obsidian. Maybe I can figure out how to post a pic on here and send you one. Take care.
swizz
QUOTE (Woody @ Apr 5 2011, 12:22 PM) *
Maybe I can figure out how to post a pic on here and send you one.

I for one would really like to see your work!
If you have difficulty posting pics, I can help.... it's pretty easy.
CP
Welcome to the forum Woody,

I'll second that, we'd love to see your work too.