ColoradoProspector   CP Club Membership Info.

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Reply to this topicStart new topic
Smoky Quartz Hunting on Rampart Range Rd, First timer looking for assistance
Yurconale
post Sep 28 2018, 11:27 AM
Post #1

Observer

Group: Members
Member No.: 160,782

Hi All,

I'm relatively new to Colorado and am hoping to start exploring new options to dig fun stuff out of the ground. Since I've moved out here I've had some decent luck gold panning and now would like to try and find some smoky quartz along Rampart Range Rd. I've had trouble pinpointing exactly where on the road to dig, would someone be able to confirm if the location linked below is correct?

https://imgur.com/HVczsiN

I've also been told there may be a season where this was allowed that may have ended 9/1 or be ending 10/1. Is that the case or can I go anytime as long as there is no snow on the ground?

Thanks for your help!
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
Clay Diggins
post Sep 28 2018, 02:11 PM
Post #2

Shovel Buster!

Member No.: 118,169

It's not just about where the crystals are found. You will need to study the land status before you stop and dig. There are 9 mining claims and a pretty good chunk of private property along the stretch of road you show on your map. Those areas are off limits to your digging.

Lucky for you this is a good place to learn how to find open areas for prospecting. Look around the forum to learn how to do the research wherever you may want to prospect. It's a skill that will serve you well and the knowledge will keep you out of trouble. In the meantime I'm pretty sure some friendly member here will give you a pointy finger to get you started.

+Quote Post
NewRockHounder
post Sep 29 2018, 02:06 PM
Post #3

Rock Bar!

Member No.: 117,890

crossbones.gif Fair Warning crossbones.gif ; I own 2 claims in that area, if I catch you claim jumping me, I will PRESS CHARGES.