ColoradoProspector   CP Club Membership Info.

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Reply to this topicStart new topic
elevation coincidence
prospect4fun
post Aug 22 2017, 06:13 PM
Post #1

Observer

Group: Members
Member No.: 134,627

Hello, total noob question here:
I've done some gold prospecting so I know how to look for it, but I am totally new to gems. Something I've noticed is that some sites which produce smoky quartz and amazonite, appear to be around 8500'. The diggings around Devils Head, Sentinel/Specimen, StoveMtn, StPetersEureka, even Lake George and Tarryall, all appear to be around that elevation. There's probably many more sites around that elevation that I don't know about, those are just the front range ones I do know of.
Coincidence elevation wise?

Also my recent interest in gems has grown since I started dirtbike riding, which has allowed me to get back in places rarely visited and see some really cool stuff!

Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
nate
post Aug 22 2017, 09:25 PM
Post #2

Shovel Buster!

Member No.: 121,949