ColoradoProspector   CP Club Membership Info.

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

5 Pages V   1 2 3 > »   
Reply to this topicStart new topic
Help - Taking the Kids to Colorado
SaintsFan
post Jul 7 2011, 10:21 AM
Post #1

Diggin' In!

Group: Members
Member No.: 22,396

I have been visiting your board off and on for several months and have really enjoyed it. I decided to join because I am looking for some advice. I am in Louisiana, and I am taking the wife and kids to Colorado the first week in August, a trip my wife and I have been talking about since last summer. My 14 year old son, a miniature geologist and rock hound, has had his heart set on panning for gold on our trip, something he has wanted to do for years. He will consider the whole trip a bust if we dont get to do some gold prospecting. Unfortunatly, we have so many things planned on our trip, that we may only get one, maybe two, days of panning in.

My question is: Can someone on this board recommend a good site for a one or two day trip? We will be staying just west of Golden for a couple of days, then up to Rocky Mountain National Park.
After doing a little research, I have planned on trying Clear Creek along Highways 6 and 119 up to Black Hawk. But, just looking around on the internet, it looks like a pretty busy place, so I wasn't sure of the results. Plus, I didn't want to step on anybody's toes or break any laws. If we had no luck, I was going to go on up to Vic's and spend some time there. I'm obviosly not looking to strike it rich, just looking for a little bit of something in the bottom of my kid's pans for a souvenir, something they can say they did themselves.

Also, any advice on equipment, laws or rules (stated or unstated)?

Thanks for everyone on this board. Just reading a lot of the threads sure has me pumped up. My family and I are sure looking forward to our trip.

signs026.gif
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
swizz
post Jul 7 2011, 03:34 PM
Post #2

Member No.: 6,983