ColoradoProspector   CP Club Membership Info.

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Reply to this topicStart new topic
Mineral learning help
jimmyrig
post Jan 20 2018, 09:00 AM
Post #1

Shovel Buster!

Group: Members
Member No.: 132,619

Was a beautiful day out yesterday so I went out to the hayman burn area to do some poking around and test flight with my drone. I'm still learning my common minerals so thought I'd just take a stab at some. Is this Quartz in Porphyritic Rhyolite?
Attached image(s)
Attached Image

--------------------
James
Member Since 06/2017
Referral JB748
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
jimmyrig
post Jan 21 2018, 09:08 AM
Post #2

Shovel Buster!

Drone Video https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=w8Xs7ji7Fx0

--------------------
James
Member Since 06/2017
Referral JB748

+Quote Post
Woody
post Jan 21 2018, 10:44 PM
Post #3

Rock Bar!

Member No.: 15,615

Hi Jimmyrig,

So... Just learning your minerals huh? Well "Porphyritic Rhyolite" is a mouth full for someone just cutting their teeth on common minerals. Rhyolite is very common and can be found all over the high country. "Porphyritic" on the other hand is a term
used to describe the texture of a host of different rocks. The use of the word Porphyritic describing texture is a direct reference to Crystals contained in the material being described. The size of these crystals are most often very small and can't readily be
addressed unless viewed up-close.

From the picture submitted, I can't honestly tell if that material is Rhyolite or Granite, let alone if it is Porphyritic or not. I'd call it an outcropping of Quartz in Granite.

However, I think I know what you are getting at, and I like it! When a dedicated person first takes on a new hobby they read a lot about it. One of the terms used in describing how to find crystals is Porphyritic. If you are seeing this porphyritic texture,